Enjoying the “Now”

“I can’t wait to have my baby”. These were the words I constantly uttered in the last trimester of both pregnancies. In my mind, I just wanted to birth my daughter and move on. Now I have two sweet little girls and there is surely a temptation to constantly look to the future and think, “I can’t wait for my babies to be independent”, “I can’t wait for my girls to do this or that”, etc. The problem with this is that you never get to be present and just enjoy the moment. Instead, one begins to look for the next best thing. It is almost like a drug. You can miss so much in the “Now” while looking for the future.

I however believe one of the lessons for me in this season is to calm down and be present. God is deliberate and a master planner and He doesn’t let things happen randomly. He has life carefully planned out and is most pleased when we trust Him. The Bible says in Ecclesiastes 3 that there is time for everything under the sun and I have come to understand that if I just trust Him and be present in my current season life would be much more fun as opposed to looking for the next best thing.

You know, the Bible also says, the just shall live by their faith(Romans 1:17, Galatians 3:11) and Faith is now the substance of things hoped for (Heb 11:1). I especially like how the Message Translation puts it “The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, is the firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living. It’s our handle on what we can’t see”. Therefore by our faith and trust in Daddy God, we enjoy the now and don’t overly focus on what will happen tomorrow as we expect that Jesus has carefully prepared our tomorrow to be awesome.

I am basically saying, do not miss this season young mum like me. Because your children will grow up, your career will progress, your business will kick off and you’ll be able to focus on yourself again. Winter will end and summer will come but if you trust God right now, You will enjoy every season and live your best life. Be present my friend :).

For everything, there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven”– Ecclesiastes 3:1 

……and remember that You are loved,
Favour

Published by Favour Sokolayam Adebowale

Favour is a wife and a mum who is completely obsessed with her Jesus. She has authored the ebook “In search of hope; finding hope in seeming hopelessness” which can be downloaded for free on this website

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.